Hops In The Boil

Beer, Brewing, Ingredients, Recipe

When building a recipe it’s always tough for me to select which delicious hops I’m going to use in my brew. The part that makes it so difficult for me is making sure I understand how the hops are going to effect the flavor and aroma based on when I toss them in the boil.

Most brew sites do a fine job of explaining how the hops will effect your beverage but experience trumps knowledge every time. In general though, adding your hops in the beginning of the boil will release most of its bitterness. While adding them to the end of the boil you’ll get a wonderful aroma and less flavor.

But what happens in the middle? The grey area of each hop. I’ve messed around with plenty of hops during the middle of the boil and I find that they can be pretty unpredictable at times. I’m not sure if it’s the fact I do small batches and it’s easier to create unique flavors if you’re a couple minutes off of dumping in the hops. But it is a lot of fun to see how recipes evolve and finding ways to perfect my hop amounts and additions with each brew.

More readin’

http://beersmith.com/blog/2008/11/11/best-hop-techniques-for-homebrewing/

http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter5-1.html 

http://www.mrmalty.com/late_hopping.php

Photo:  Paul Miller

 

Leave a Reply

