Cayenne Pepper

Beer, Beer Styles, Brewing, Ingredients, Recipe

I recently created a beer that included cayenne pepper in the mix. I used about 1.5 ounces for my 5 gallon batch and I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. It didn’t leave the traditional sting on my mouth most oils from other peppers do when I have them in beer.

It may be because I used the powdered version. I did supply some nice heat to the beer but was only present after you had a complete swig of the beer. It was a nice compliment to the sweet flavors coming across in the beer and definitely gave me more hope for future explorations with peppers in my recipes.

I added it at flame out which was plenty of time of it to build into the wort without overpowering everything. What surprised me most is how apparent it was when I tasted the wort, then almost completely gone right before the cold crash. By the final tasting though it was right about where I wanted it to be.

More readin’

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/add-cayenne-pepper-chocolate-stout-129253/

https://byo.com/recipes-tag/item/859-hot-hot-hot-brewing-with-chili-peppers

Photo: Pink Sherbet Photography

Leave a Reply

